Pantry :: Homemade Granola

Banana Blueberry Coconut Granola {Gluten-Free + Vegan}Anyone who knows me, knows my love for cooking.  I have so many memories from childhood of cooking with my grandparents and friends.  I actually started taking cooking classes when I was in first grade.   A women down the street from us would charge all the neighborhood kids 50 cents each to learn a special recipe.  We would all gather together, a children’s parade, and walk to her house together.  No adult supervision, just a mob of kids each with two quarters in her (and his) pocket to learn such things as cupcakes in ice cream cones and quesadillas.  They were simple, fun recipes, but enough to ignite an interest that would last into my adulthood.

As a busy mom entrepreneur, I find that most of my creative energy happens in the kitchen.  I’m in there anyway.  The family needs to eat.  So why not incorporate creative energy and time with the kids?!   It’s an opportunity for me to share my passion and to bring healthy (and sometimes totally unhealthy) foods to our table.

This particular day, two over ripe bananas sit in our fruit bowl.  Such an ingredient normally leads to one of three things; banana bread, banana “ice cream” (frozen bananas pushed through the champion juicer), or granola.  Today it’s granola.  The house smells amazing.

Leave a Reply

